IHP Trimester

Geometry, Analysis and Dynamics on
Sub-Riemannian Manifolds

September 1 - December 12, 2014


The purpose of this trimester is to create a link among different communities working in sub-Riemannian geometry from different points of view and in particular among people working in the theory of hypoelliptic operators, in optimal control and in geometric measure theory.

Sub-Riemannian geometry is living a period of renewed interest, imposing itself as an extremely rich and original framework where to study geometric analysis, geometric measure theory, stochastic calculus and evolution equations. Besides that, sub-Riemannian geometry plays now a role in completely new applications such as image processing, neurophysiology and quantum control, and its potential in these areas is far from having been fully exploited yet.

The trimester will mainly focus on mathematical aspects of sub-Riemannian geometry. However, two workshops will be devoted to applications: one to applications in mechanics (motion planning, robotics, nonholonomic mechanics, quantum control) and the other one to image processing, biology and vision. Other two workshops will be organized on analytic and geometric aspects of sub-Riemannian geometry. We also plan several master courses, thematic days and seminars.

The trimester will be financed by Institute Henri Poincaré, by the ERC Project GeCoMethods and by INRIA Project GECO.

During the first week of the IHP Trimester, the Summer School "Sub-Riemannian manifolds: from geodesics to hypoelliptic diffusion" will take place at CIRM, in Marseille.


The registration to the trimester is free, however mandatory, at www.ihp.fr. Financial support for the whole Trimester is no more available.


The Institut Henri Poincare can help you to find a room or an appartment during your stay in Paris: housing-srg2014@ihp.fr


Download here the poster of the Trimester.

Organizing committee

  • Andrei Agrachev (SISSA, Trieste)
  • Davide Barilari (IMJ-PRG, Université Paris Diderot, Paris)
  • Ugo Boscain (CNRS, CMAP, École Polytechnique, Paris)
  • Yacine Chitour (LSS, Paris)
  • Frédéric Jean (ENSTA, Paris)
  • Ludovic Rifford (Laboratoire J.A. Dieudonné, Nice)
  • Mario Sigalotti (INRIA, CMAP, École Polytechnique, Paris)

International scientific committee

  • L. Ambrosio
  • R. Bryant
  • E. Falbel
  • A. Figalli
  • B. Franchi
  • J.P. Gauthier
  • N. Garofalo
  • I. Kupka
  • A. Malchiodi
  • R. Montgomery
  • P. Pansu
  • J. Petitot
  • A. Sarychev
  • F. Serra Cassano
  • E. Trélat
  • I. Zelenko